Be Kind 

One of the most important things to remember when building a healthy lifestyle is to be kind to yourself.

I spent the weekend devouring cheesecake, brownies, burgers and all the rest of it. Normally, I’d have declared myself a failure and stuffed my face until I felt awful and physically sick. But when I woke up yesterday morning, I had a nutritious breakfast and worked out in the early evening, as always.

Beating yourself up for overindulging will make you feel worse about yourself and most likely result in a return to old and unhealthy habits.

Learning to forgive my little errors has made it easier to get back on track when I falter. Instead of looking at a mistakes as a catastrophic end to my journey, I use the opportunity to understand why I overdid it and what I can do to prevent it next time.

Picking yourself up when you’ve failed is hard. It’s nothing, however, compared to the disappointment you’ll have to face everyday if you choose not to.

Leave a Reply

