My Fitness Apps

Over the years, I’ve tried a number of apps to help me on my fitness journey. Extra hidden costs, unattractive appearance and clumsy user interface put me off many of them. There have, however, been a few that have been extremely helpful.

Nike Training Club

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 3.18.28 PM

There are many things I love about this app. The wide selection of workouts, the way it talks you through the movements, the words of encouragement as you go and how it keeps track of how many calories you burn, just to name a few. But what I’ve found most useful is the Create A Program feature. You can tailor your program based on whether you want to ‘Get Lean’ or Get Toned’ for example. Once you’ve done that, it allows you to choose your fitness level then creates a four-week program with everything you need. The best part about this is that it ticks off every work out you complete. There’s something about a complete list of ticks acknowledging that I’ve worked out that keeps me super motivated.

Tumblr

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 3.17.09 PM

Although it’s not a fitness app, Tumblr’s ‘fitblr’ community is extremely helpful. What do you get out of it? Photos of delicious healthy food, advice from people who have been successful in their weight-loss or fitness journey, before and after photos to show you that your goals are possible, words of encouragement and healthy recipes.

All these things make this app a must-have for days when you feel you aren’t progressing or are in need of a quick dose of inspiration.

MyFitness Pal

Screen Shot 2016-01-18 at 3.17.52 PM

This app has played a huge role in helping me develop a healthy relationship with food. It calculates how much you need to eat during the day based on your height, weight and fitness/weight-loss goals. Before I had this I could never see any changes despite countless hours in the gym and what I thought was healthy eating. This resulted in my being constantly tired and light-headed. Now I feel well-fed and energetic throughout the day.

These are the apps I’ve found most useful in my journey to a healthier lifestyle! I’d love to hear about any other apps that have helped you guys with your fitness. Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

