October Challenge: The First Week

This month, my friend @student_health_journey suggested we each set our top three fitness goals and work towards them together. Whoever reaches theirs first by the end of the month gets a sports bra and leggings from the other. It’s only been a week and I’m already seeing progress!

So basically, I ate well all week. I also had my first weekend where I didn’t kill myself with junk food which I’m really proud of.
The current situation with universities in South Africa has meant that this has been a very stressful time and I’m proud that I haven’t caved in and turned to food to curb my anxiety.

screen-shot-2016-10-07-at-3-13-02-pm

I’m a creature of habit so I tend to eat the same thing. My Evox Lean Pro Smoothie has been a regular feature, either as part of lunch or breakfast. Kippers on whole-wheat toast are a current favourite too. When it comes to snacks, I’ve been enjoying Woolworths Date Balls and Seasonal Vegetable Chips. So delicious! As for dinner, I usually have some form of protein and lots of vegetables. Fruits feature in between, mainly oranges and bananas, my two favourites.

screen-shot-2016-10-07-at-3-09-00-pm

I’ve been to the gym four times this week and I snuck in a bikram yoga class on Thursday at Yoga Life. I only recently started doing yoga and I’ve really been enjoying it. Hot yoga in particular is as much a physical challenge as it is an emotional and mental cleanser.

screen-shot-2016-10-07-at-3-09-36-pm

By the end of the week, my body was a bit sore so my final gym session on Friday was a challenge. I was the last person in the gym which males me really happy for some reason, and I had a good weekend where I tried so hard not to ruin my progress. I’m really excited to see what week two brings!

Leave a Reply

