Week Three: Stress, Anxiety & Emotional Eating

The third week of our challenge was particularly difficult for me. Stress and anxiety have a tendency to encourage the abandon of well-cultivated habits. By the end of the week, all the hard work I’d been putting in was being put to the ultimate test.

Ignoring the reasons for recurring stress and negativity is not healthy. That’s what I did and when it finally caught up with me, the results were not good at all. I couldn’t even use the gym to lift my spirits, which never happens, as it’s always part of the solution.

I found myself resorting to the habit that’s been the hardest to get rid of: emotional eating. In an attempt to curb unhealthy cravings, I opted for some sugarless dark chocolate. It wasn’t all that bad until I decided to melt it. The plasticky smell it gave off quickly turned it into the worst thing I’ve ever tasted.

I tried again with the healthy treats and ended up buying air-popped popcorn and strawberries (which tasted like happiness)!

img_2528img_2527

By Saturday, I was beginning to feel a bit better but not quite myself. After a long and therapeutic drive, I took a little trip to Burger King and I can honestly say I enjoyed it and it made me feel better. Although it may appear to have been a reversion to emotional eating, I refused to see it that way. I’ve found that one of the best ways to develop a healthy relationship with food is not to allow it to make you feel guilty. It may not have been part of the plan, but in most cases, we enjoy those little mistake because they taste good!  The trick is to be honest with yourself. Acknowledge that you enjoyed it while keeping in mind that having it too often isn’t in your best interest.

Then stop.

Do not spend hours beating yourself up and feeling guilty because that always leads to more negativity which means more unhealthy eating. It’s a vicious cycle.

This week was definitely the hardest but I’ve chosen to keep going. One of my favourite quotes by Winston Churchill sums it up perfectly:

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm

Kudzi.

Leave a Reply

