Monday On A Plate: The 80/20 Rule

“The key to achieving optimum fitness is 80% what you eat and 20% physical exercise.”

This quote is not an unfamiliar one in the fitness community. I generally do not have a problem with the exercise part. I live for early morning gym sessions and rainy day runs. I do, however, have a difficulty with the eating part. Throughout high school I cultivated terrible eating habits. I was either over eating or limiting myself dangerously. When I got to university, I would spend ages in the gym almost every day of the week and see no results because I would walk over to McDonalds post-workout almost every time. Over the past two years, I’ve definitely managed  to alter those habits and have seen major results but there are times when I feel that I should do more to keep seeing results and to live my healthiest life. I’ve decided to include this little ‘segment’ to help me keep track of what I’m eating and to share the recipes that have worked for me with you guys!

Breakfast

Studies show that people who have a healthy breakfast are better at maintaining their weight and I’ve found I eat much better throughout the day when I have a good, strong breakfast. Today’s breakfast was Whey Protein Pancakes with Toasted Pecans. There was a side of pineapple too 😉

Whey Protein Pancakes with Toasted Pecans and a side of Pineapple

screen-shot-2017-01-08-at-12-05-21-pm

Lunch

Although I like my lunch quick and easy, I don’t like to have to compromise on flavour. I used stir-fry vegetables and meat that I bought already cut up. I sautéed some garlic and ginger in a drop of sesame seed oil and then threw the chicken in. When it was starting to brown, I put in the vegetables and seasoned. After about five minutes, I put in a tablespoon of chutney and another of soy sauce. I sprinkled on top coriander before eating it.

Chicken Stir-Fry

screen-shot-2017-01-09-at-3-46-01-pm

Snack

There’s usually a longer period between lunch and dinner so I like to have something in-between. It’s been really cold and rainy lately  (and I’ve had a terrible flu that just won’t go away) so I’ve been having Nomu Skinny Hot Chocolate. It’s extremely delicious and I like that I don’t need to add any sugar or milk as it’s sufficiently ‘creamy’ and sweet on its own.

Nomu Hot Chocolate

img_3518

Dinner

I try to limit simple carbohydrate intake at dinner, focusing more on meat and vegetables. Tonight I had a kind-of Chilli Con Carne with a little avocado, low fat cream cheese and homemade wholewheat tortilla chips.

Chili Con Carne

img_3525

And that’s it! What are your  favourite healthy meals are and how do you manage to balance the 80/20 Rule?

Kudzi.

Leave a Reply

